Webinar On Patentability Requirements for Computer Related Inventions (CRIs)


Live Webinar

Date/Time: Friday, April 25, 2014

8:00 AM to 9:00 AM (PDT)
5.00 PM to 6.00 PM (CEST)
8.30 PM to 9.30 PM (IST)

Event Details:

The patentability requirements for Computer Related Inventions (CRIs) under Indian Patent Law have been unclear. It is generally understood that a CRI must demonstrate “technical effect” and the relevant claims must have “machine limitation”, in addition to the basic patentability requirements of novelty, inventive step, and industrial applicability.

However, the phrase “technical effect” has not been defined properly. Further, the legal basis for technical effect requirement has not been clarified.

In this session, we will take a close look at the guidelines for examination of CRIs published recently by the Indian Patent Office to gain some insights regarding the "technical effect" requirement.

Take Aways:

- Understand evolution of patent law with reference protection of CRIs
- Understand “technical effect” requirement and legal basis for the requirement
- Understand patentability of CRIs in India through examples

Speaker: Arun Narasani, Founder, ipMetrix Consulting Group


Image from geralt available here, CC0 BY 1.0